Kane Scholarship Winners Announced

Kane Scholarship Winners Announced

Beartooth Billings Clinic Foundation announced the 2018 Dr. James and Juanita Kane Scholarship winners at their recent board meeting. 

The scholarship, presented annually by the Beartooth Billings Clinic Foundation, is made possible by the Kane family and other generous donors as a legacy to Dr. Kane, a general practice physician who served the Carbon County area faithfully for over 50 years.  Created in 2008, the scholarship fund assists with continuing education expenses of local graduating high school students seeking a career in rural healthcare, in addition to funding one Beartooth Billings Clinic staff member who seeks to improve and apply their skills in Carbon County.   

2018 Dr. James and Juanita Kane Scholarship winners include Cooper Mann, Red Lodge ($2,000); Tayler Wright, Joliet ($1,500); Cara White, Bridger ($1,500); McKendra O’Dore, Joliet ($1,000) and Beartooth staff member Shannon Crable ($2,000). 

“We’re honored to continue Dr. Kane and Juanita’s legacy of supporting higher education in rural healthcare. This year’s high school candidates showed exceptional qualities, not only in their dedication to their studies, but in their volunteerism, character and strong work ethic. We look forward to seeing these upcoming rural healthcare workers providing service to our communities in the near future,” notes Rob Ringer, Foundation Scholarship Committee Chair. 

Since its inception, the Kane Scholarship has awarded over $60,000 to Carbon County, Montana students.